Chateau Mildura (Mildura’s first winery) has had a long history which dates back to the age of the Chaffey Brothers, the region’s original irrigation pioneers.
Scroll the timeline below to browse some significant events in the winery’s history. Feel free to contact us for any further info.
1888 - 150 acres of winegrapes planted.
1891 - First vintage produced.
1892 - Brick Cellars constructed.
1895 - First still installed for spirit & brandy production.
1896 - Collapse of Chaffeys business and Royal Commission held
1910 - Chateau Mildura becomes part of Mildura Wines Pty Ltd.
1933 - H R Haselgrove employed. Equipment, stills and production techniques updated
1937 - Mildara brand adopted.
1946 - Large Vat shed erected at front of winery using s/h iron 36 jarrah vats installed by Babidge coopers Mile end.
1950\'s - Brandy production ceases, stills relocated to Merbein.
1960\'s - 17 unique gabled roofed concrete sherry vats constructed.
1997 - Last flor sherry produced.
2002 - Chateau Mildura sold at Auction to Lance Milne.
2005 - Psyche Wines produces 1st table wine vintage after 100 year break. Cellar Door opens November 19th.